Home Board Events Hall of Fame Contests Resources

The Missouri Institute of Cooperatives (MIC) is an association of local and regional cooperatives organized to provide education on the cooperative form of business. Through youth programs, the annual newsletter, and the annual meeting, MIC fosters learning and discussion on cooperatives for the cooperative leaders of today and tomorrow.


October proclaimed Cooperative Month

Since 1964, October has been set aside to celebrate Cooperative Month. Governor Michael L. Parson has proclaimed October 2020 to be Cooperative Month in Missouri.


2020 Missouri Cooperative Hall of Fame Inductees

The following individuals were inducted into the Missouri Cooperative Hall of Fame in March, 2020.
      Meredith Kapp, Farm Credit Services (Heritage Award )
      Frank Charles "Chuck" Lay III, MFA Incorporated (Employee Category)
      Floyd Ouderkirk, MFA Oil Company (Employee Category)
      Ralph Schallert, MFA Oil Company (Member Category)
      Ron Thompson, Dairy Farmers of America (Employee Category)
      Jay Turner, Boone Electric Cooperative (Member Category)
      Gary Wrye, FCS Financial (Employee Category)
A full list of Hall of Fame members are located on the Hall of Fame page.


Congrats to district and state winners in MIC’s 2019-2020 FFA Speaking Contest

MIC's 2019-2020 FFA Speaking Contest winners

Pictured left to right: Matt Staley, MIC Board; Lexi Tackett, Bourbon FFA; Charlie Vitt, Paris FFA (3rd Place); Elizabeth Plunkett, Perryville FFA; Claire Galbraith, Jefferson FFA (2nd Place); Cade Shepherd, Mt. Vernon FFA (1st Place); Emma Wernex, Cass Career Center FFA; Scott Gardner, MIC Board


Congratulations to the winners of MIC's 2019-2020 Create a Coop Contest

    First place winner Hailey Schepers
      First Place: Sarcoxie FFA
      (Pictured Left to Right)
      Matt Staley, MIC Board
      Latisha Mitchell
      Elaina Chapman
      Emily Meyer
      Elizabeth Burton


    First place winner Hailey Schepers
      Second Place: Monroe City FFA
      (Pictured Left to Right)
      Matt Staley, MIC Board
      Matthew Barnes
      Ava Gottman
      Evan Salyer


For more information on MIC, please contact:

Kristi Livingston | Education Coordinator | University of Missouri | 125D Mumford Hall | Columbia, MO | 65211-6200

Phone: 573-882-0140 | Email: livingstonk@missouri.edu